To Future Generations…

In my time, we believed our very future was at stake. We were told we had to curb our development for the sake of you, future generations. This came with the overwhelming weight of authority of a consensus of scientists, settled science and a nobel prize-winning body, the United Nation’s IPCC. I don’t know if you still have the United Nation’s; if it’s been reformed or gone the way of the League of Nations, but I know you must be looking back at my time and wondering; what the hell went wrong back then? How could science become so distorted, politicians keen to cripple the economies of their country for the sake of some incorrect notion of saving the world?

In my time, we had a television show called futurama and it is based on you, the future people of the world. They referred to our period in history as the “Stupid Ages”. I certainly hope that is not how you will see my generation. I can assure you to that end, that there were those among us saw through the spin and the lies and resisted plans for governments to cut off the lifeblood of western civilisations, fossil fuels. While no doubt you are aware of the need to find an alternate surce for when these run out, you are also aware of everything they have brought us. They have given humanity a real shot in the arm and bolstered our development during the 20th century. As I write this, they are demonised and thought of by some as the harbringers of our doom. I hope that in your time, every citizen of the world has been able to benefit from their use, and marvel at the wonder that is electricity.

I certainly hope your history lessons teach of the ignorance that existed in my time and how science was corrupted by politics and of course, money. Your civilisation will likely use this as what not to do and have taken steps to ensure science remains science and as such can be the vehicle in which humanity advances.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

