Show us the climate evidence

A week ago I had a letter to the editor published in the Herald Sun in an attempt to highlight the fact that there is no evidence that implicates carbon dioxide in the climate crime syndicate.

“Where is the evidence?
Our country is now facing a carbon (dioxide) tax, possibly the largest economic reform Australia has seen.
This makes it even more crucial to ask for evidence of the supposed problem.
It is a question we all must ask: Where is the evidence that mankind’s emissions have any significant impact on the world’s climate?
I worry that the debate has been hijacked by the misconception of scientific “consensus” and as such, people are ignoring the fact that we have seen no such evidence.”

Several replies were published in subsequent days that tell me my message did not sink in.

“To all those confused people demanding someone show them the evidence that climate change is real, are you joking? Have you not been listening since the 1980s? That is a long time to have your heads in the sand.” – Jason, Melbourne H.S. (24/5/11)

This one amused me. I’m eighteen. I wasn’t around in the 1980s. Yet, Jason doesn’t refer to any evidence. Perhaps he mistakes melting glaciers, sea level rises and weather events for evidence carbon dioxide is responsible.

“Stop denying cold, hard facts
The evidence regarding climate change is waiting to be read (“Show us the climate evidence”, Your say, May 23).
Sticking fingers in your ears, squeezing your eyes closed and yelling “La la la – I don’t hear you” doesn’t mean the evidence hasn’t been presented.
Climate change is only a controversy among people who refuse to believe they don’t know everything and people with something to gain (short-term) from the status quo.
Those whose job it is to find the answers all agree. And those of us dedicated to life-long learning can’t help but also agree with the evidence.
It’s time to stop letting “always right” know-nothings dictate the discussion.”
James Sell, Carrum H.S. (25/5/11)

I do seek out the facts James, I look for the evidence. Rather, I think that it is you who are sticking your fingers in your ears, shutting your eyes to a lack of evidence. Perhaps he is unaware of the petition project, with 31000 American scientists who do dispute the global warming scare. (No one knows everything, not you, not me.) I suppose they must all have something to gain however, much like myself, being the big oil shill that I am (though this may seem obvious to most, but some people may not understand that was sarcasm). The most interesting part of this letter however is what it doesn’t contain. Evidence.

“Cold reality on warming claims
(“Show us the climate evidence:, May 23), there’s plenty of evidence humans are causing global warming – you just need to know where to look.
The IPCC said Himalayan glaciers would be gone by 2035, or was that 2350?
The UN said there would be 50 million climate refugees by, oh, last year, but they’ve changed that to 2020.
In 2000 the Climatic Research Unit of “climategate” fame said snow would be a thing of the past in England by, um, now.
And isn’t the Arctic suppose to be pretty much ice-free in summer by now? Or was it 2008?
No, 2003. No it’s 2013. Wait, it’s 2020. Nup, it’s 2015 now.
Hang on…you just have to trust the climate scientists and their climate models.”
Tim Peters, Geilston Bay, Tas H.S. (26/5/11)

Good to see another “confused” “always right know-nothing ” back me up.

Conclusions from my little social experiment; some people don’t know what evidence is and are under the impression there exists some for anthropogenic global warming.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Show us the climate evidence

  1. ArchaicMosaic says:

    Dear ClimateNonConformist.

    I like your website. In fact, I like several things about your website. I like that you acknowledge that yes, in fact, it is carbon-DIOXIDE that is being demonised, not simply carbon – the building blocks of life – which is evil. Which it isn’t really, in my opinion.

    I like that you demand evidence which links carbon-dioxide levels to things such as rising sea levels (which I feel is simply a result of us coming out of an ice age).

    I think our climate is changing. I don’t think it is because of people. I think that even if it was because of people, taxing big corporations who in turn will charge consumers more rather than cutting down “emissions” is pointless. I think that if people are so scared, and if the government is happy to capitalise on irrational “belief” in climate change, people should spend less time devising tax schemes, and more time outside enjoying the fresh air we do have and planting trees.

    Loving the blog,

    AM

Leave a Reply

