Gillard on Q&A

I didn’t watch Q&A last night, I didn’t even know Gillard was on. However, after seeing the reaction on the blogosphere, I thought I should. Andrew Bolt notes her failure to answer questions that I later discovered just jumped off the screen.

As I expected, she overused the terms “carbon” and “pollution”, so I scanned the transcript. “Carbon was used over 100 times and “pollution” 71. Each usage of these words was a lie. That and the phrase “it is the right thing to do” really get on my nerves. It is a moralising and condescending remark.

Another thing that was blatantly obvious, was that the audience was visibly hostile, contrary to your normal Q&A audience. Body language reveals all. Perhaps this demonstrates the sheer weight of opposition to this plan. However, the tweets that were displayed on the screen were dominated by warmists with an air of ignorance. A couple even attributed the audience reaction to sexism.

She tried to make an analogy of paying to take stuff to the tip with paying to “pollute”. An audience member took her to task over the simplicity and deceit of this statement.

Then, we had some zombies from the Australian Youth Climate Coalition. As a member of their generation, I cringed.

I found it hilarious that Gillard declared that New Zealand is beating us in cutting emissions. Just like Gold Coast is beating Port Adelaide in a race to the bottom of the ladder (bad luck Gazza). Anyway, we beat the kiwis in the netball, so it’s all good.

The worst thing she said however came towards the end, when she declared she would trust the CSIRO scientists over Alan Jones. What a loaded remark. It is not a case of scientists versus shock jocks. There are scientists on both sides, as in every scientific issue and ignoring them doesn’t mean they aren’t there.

So, that is an hour of my life that I will not get back. Just more Gillard propaganda and predictable clichés.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

