My first taste of the green movement

Recently, I recalled an experience I had, that I now realised was my first taste of the green movement. I was interested in science from a young age and had a subscription to a CSIRO magazine, Scientrific. I had ordered a CD from the magazine that, looking back, provides a real insight into the environmental movement. On this CD, called Planet Slayer was an activity, similar to one where you calculate your carbon footprint. Only this one calculated how long you should live to ensure you only use your fair share of the earth’s resources.

Yes, it was a program marketed to children telling them when they should die. Trust me, it’s not a good thing for a 10/11 year old to be told they should have died at nine. Ironically, it’s subtitle was: “get the dirt on greenhouse, without the guilt trips!” You have used two more years of our planet’s resources than you are entitled to. You should die. No, don’t feel guilty there.

Back then, it was distressing. Now, I view it as a glimpse into parts of the green movement. There are aspects of this ideology where humans are seen as worthless, and in this case, where children are expendable for the sake of our beloved Gaia. (Western civilisation wouldn’t last long if everyone was killed off at age nine.) It also has communist parallels, in that we should each be allocated a certain amount of the planet’s resources. But, I think Tim Flannery explains in better than I can.

Good Green Fun

What’s the ABC doing putting it’s name to this godforsaken brainwashing tool featuring this dirty, filthy hippie? Why should I be surprised?

Thanks to my brother for digging up the damned CD. I don’t know why we still have it, but I look forward to snapping it in half.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My first taste of the green movement

  1. Pingback: Remaking Humans | Climate Nonconformist

Leave a Reply

