Climategate a catalyst for skepticism

In the Skeptics Handbook, Jo Nova notes a number of former warmists who became skeptics, Ivar Giaever, Claude Alegre, David Evans, Nir Shaviv and Richard Courtney amongst them. But it’s really one way traffic, isn’t it? You don’t hear too many tales of skeptics turning into alarmists. To use a chemistry analogy, it’s not a reversible reaction like the dissociation of water, it’s more like a combustion reaction. You can’t unburn what’s already burnt. I guess that’s what is happening to the global warming movement. Like a combustion reaction, it’s going up in flames.

This reaction however was going along very slowly however, until late 2009. Since climategate, believers switched sides faster than they had before. It was a very effective catalyst, and in being partly responsible for the failure of Copenhagen, served as the turning point in the global warming debate.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Climategate a catalyst for skepticism

  1. Peter C says:

    Interesting point. Climategate certainly did it for me. I wasn’t a warmist as such though, I just didn’t know enough to doubt their word. After Climategate I took a closer look and fell firmly in the sceptic camp.
    Can you come up with any examples of notables who have gone the other way?

    • Climate Nonconformist says:

      I am not aware of any skeptics who have converted to warmism. There may be some out there, but it seems that it has mostly been one way traffic.

  2. Peter Wardle says:

    I went along with all the warmist hype. However more and more things bothered me about it all. It started to look to be untrue. At this point I was, therefore, a sceptic. Late last year, however, I started to look into the science. At first I tried to give equal weight to both sides. I attempted to find reasonable arguments for each case. What I found was that I couldn’t find any evidence that CO2 was a cause for serious global warming, but there were numerous valid arguments that it could not be. So I am no longer a sceptic I am now a denier.

  3. Pingback: Come clean, Tony | Climate Nonconformist

  4. Pingback: The free frontier | Climate Nonconformist

Leave a Reply

