Answer the question, Julia

I recently finished high school, did well on my exams. I recall some advice from my maths teacher that served me well. “Answer the question, ” he would say. Read the question, ask yourself what it wants in your answer and give it. If in an exam, my answers were irrelevant to what was asked, I wouldn’t get my marks. It’s that simple. How then, does the Prime Minister of Australia get away with doing this?

On Q&A, as during every interview Julia Gillard gives, she dodged questions,  threw around mindless, repetitve slogans and gave generic, predictable and clichéd responses. She has never faced up to the pre-election lie, allowing her to evade calls for an election or plebiscite. She dismisses the “Andrew Bolt” question; how much warming will we forestall for all the pain? It is a legitimate question, it’s a basic cost-benefit analysis.

How does she get away with the lies and deceit too? I couldn’t get away with calling carbon dioxide a pollutant in a biology exam (don’t you know, plants love pollution). There is the lie that we are falling behind. Actually, China is replacing it’s coal-fired power plants, India is doing nothing and ‘action’ in the US has stalled. There is most of the world’s emissions right there, and we are stifling our development.

If I tried an argument by authority in a test, I’m not going to fare too well. Yet, Gillard says no credible scientist contradicts her and implies you either need to believe the CSIRO or Alan Jones. It wouldn’t be advisable for a high school student to throw names around instead of providing the evidence.

I did well at school because I answered questions. Our prime minister cannot do this simple thing. That is a big, fat fail, Ms Gillard.

About Climate Nonconformist

Hi, I'm the climatenonconformist (not my real name), and I am a global warming skeptic, among the few in generation Y. With Australia facing the prospect of a carbon tax, we need to be asking the simple question; where is the evidence that our emissions are causing any dangerous warming?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment